Texas Broker License Education Requirements
If you have a four-year degree from an accredited college or university in the United States, the Texas Real Estate Commission will award you 630 clock hours of “related” credit; therefore, with a four-year degree you will only need to acquire at total of 270 clock hours in “qualifying” credit. All courses you took to obtain your salesperson’s license and your SAE renewal hours will all count toward the 270 hours of “qualifying” credit. CE credits only count as “elective” credit toward your Broker’s license.
If you do not have a four-year degree but you have some college hours, you will need to estimate what percentage of a four-year degree you have and then estimate the number of “clock” hours you will most likely receive. For example, if you have an associates degree (2 year degree), then you can estimate that you will receive approximately 300-315 hours of credit toward your broker’s license 630 ÷ 2= 315.
OR if you have a year of college, you can estimate that you will receive approximately 150 -160 hours credit 630 ÷ 4 = 157.5 hours.
Courses taken for credit from an accredited college or university in any of the following areas will be acceptable: accounting, advertising, architecture, business or management, construction, finance, investments, law, marketing, and real estate.
Of course, it will be necessary for you to submit a Broker’s Application to the Texas Real Estate Commission and the application fee to find out exactly how many hours they will award, but your estimate can be helpful for you to determine if you can complete the necessary requirements in the one year time-frame.